17 March 2017

More post offices in India to deliver passport related services

India's Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Department of Post (DoP) have decided to utilise the Head Post Office (HPO) in the various states as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) for delivering passport-related services to Indian citizens.

Following the success of the pilot POPSK at Mysuru (Mysore) in Karnataka and at Dahod in Gujarat, MEA and DoP announced in February 2017 their decision to open 64 additional POPSK.

Following the success of various POPSK, MEA and DoP have announced 19 more POPSK.

The MEA and DOP will continue to work closely for early commencement of passport-related services at all 64 POPSKs. Once fully functional, applicants who apply for a passport through the passport portal will be able to schedule an appointment at a POPSK to complete the formalities necessary prior to the issue of the passport.

Passport services are available at the HPOs of:

Andheri East
Asansol (West Bengal)
Kavaratti (Lakshadweep)
Kota (Rajasthan)
Lower Parel
Muzaffarpur (Bihar)
Nagpur (Maharashtra)
Pathanamthitta (Kerala)
Raiganj (West Bengal)
Rourkela (Odisha)
Salem (Tamil Nadu)
Udhampur (Jammu & Kashmir)
Vidisha (Madhya Pradesh)

Services will be available at the HPOs of:

Agra (Uttar Pradesh)
Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh)
Almora (Uttarakhand)
Aurangabad (Maharashtra)
Ayodhya (Uttar Pradesh)
Beed (Maharashtra)
Bhatinda (Punjab)
Bijnaur (Uttar Pradesh)
Deoria (Uttar Pradesh)
Gautam Budh Nagar (NOIDA)
Gazipur (Uttar Pradesh)
Ghatkopar (Maharashtra)
Haldwani (Uttarakhand)
Jalgaon (Maharashtra)
Jhansi (Uttar Pradesh)
Kolhapur (Maharashtra)
Mathura (Uttar Pradesh)
Meerut (Uttar Pradesh)
Mumbai North Central (Maharashtra)
Mumbai South Central (Maharashtra)
Nainital (Uttarakhand)
Pilibhit (Uttar Pradesh)
PimpriChinchwad (Maharashtra)
Solapur (Maharashtra)
South Goa (Goa)
Sultanpur (Uttar Pradesh)